*** UPDATE July 14, 2021***
The temporary late fee suspension for Transient Accommodation License renewals is coming to an end on July 31. Lodging operators with a Transient Accommodations License from the Washington State Department of Health (DOH) should check the status of their license to see if it needs to be renewed.
The DOH will soon begin charging late fees for non-payment of renewal fees.
Check out our March 2 article below and the Transient Accommodations (Hotels and Motels) page on the DOH website for more information.
Original post from March 2, 2021:
Officials of the Washington State Department of Health are providing financial relief to lodging members experiencing the loss of revenues because of the pandemic. The agency has extended its 35-day grace period for late payments and eliminated late fees all the way to July 31, 2021. If your lodging business has received an invoice for the Transient Accommodations License fees, you may extend payment until July 31, 2021 without late fee penalty.
According to the Department of Health, transient accommodations are facilities that offer three or more lodging units to guests for periods of fewer than 30 days. Facilities include hotels, motels, bed and breakfasts, resorts, inns, condominiums, crisis shelters, hostels and retreats.
The Transient Accommodation License fee must be paid annually, and costs $198 to $795 depending on number of lodging units.
The Department of Health said each business will receive its license fee renewal reminder 60 days before the license expires, per usual.
The department typically has a 35-day grace period. If fee payment is not received, on day 36 the facility will be notified it is in active pending status instead of a closed status until July 30, 2021. After July 30, 2021, to be in compliance the business will need to submit its completed application and fee.
The fine print
- The next renewal date will fall within the normal renewal schedule (for example, if the renewal date is June 1, 2021, and you pay that renewal fee after your original due date, your next renewal fee will remain June 1, 2022).
- The Department of Health will not send another renewal notice.
- The current license will remain in active status as long as payment is received no later than July 30, 2021.
- No late fees or interest will be assessed if you pay by July 30, 2021. (Late fees are typically $66.)
- You do need to notify the department of your requested payment extension at firstname.lastname@example.org.