ServSafe Alcohol & MAST Permit
About the training
Online course & exam: $32
Use code WAPROMO20 to reduce the price to $20.
Those who complete the Washington version of the ServSafe Alcohol course and exam receive their Washington state required Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST) Class 12 or Class 13 permit in addition to their ServSafe Alcohol certification.
The ServSafe Alcohol® program prepares bartenders, servers, hosts, bussers, valets, bouncers and all front-of-house staff to effectively and safely handle difficult situations in your operation. Alcohol service involves many risks. Failure to act responsibly could result in fines, imprisonment, losing your liquor license, increased insurance costs, or losing your business.
Students choose from two exams when registering for a course. The ServSafe Alcohol Primary Exam tests basic understanding. The ServSafe Alcohol Advanced Proctored Exam tests proficiency in key concepts.
The ServSafe Alcohol® training and certification program will teach you to effectively do the following:
- Understand alcohol laws and responsibilities
- Evaluate intoxication levels
- Check identification
- Deal with difficult situations
WSLCB has certified the Mandatory Alcohol Server Training course based on the Washington Administrative Code 314-17 and any other information on this website that is not a part of the MAST course may not be certified by WSLCB.
Frequently asked questions
How long is the online course?
The online course is four hours and you have up to two hours to complete the exam.
How long is my permit valid?
A Washington State MAST permit will be valid for five years.
When will I receive my permit?
Upon course and exam completion, ServSafe will digitally present you the ServSafe Alcohol certification, this is not your permit. Your Washington State MAST permit will be issued to you by mail within 30 days of course and exam completion. Make sure your mailing address is correct otherwise you won’t receive your permit.
How do I upgrade my permit from a Class 13 to a Class 12?
Please contact us to upgrade your permit upon turning 21.
What if I completed and passed the exam but have not yet recived my permit in the mail?
Please contact us if you have not received your permit within 30 days.
What if I fail the exam?
The course can be taken again as many times as needed at a discounted price.
I lost my permit or need my permit reprinted.
Please contact us to get your permit reprinted and mailed out to you. *$5 fee may apply