Spokane chapter celebrates 2013 award winners

Spokane chapter celebrates 2013 award winners

The Spokane chapter’s 2013 Restaurant of the Year, Supplier of the Year and Employee of the Year annual awards were announced at the Awards Gala & Silent Auction earlier this week. The Lifetime Achievement and ProStart Mentor of the Year awards were announced as well.

2013 Restaurant of the Year Awards:

Criteria:  Industry leaders who exemplify service to customers, food quality, cleanliness and overall appearance, integrity in dealing with suppliers, participation in the WRA, and community involvement.

  • Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year:  Masselow’s at Northern Quest Resort & Casino
  • Casual Dining Restaurant of the Year:  The Onion
  • Quick Service Restaurant of the Year:  Jimmy John’s

2013 Employee of the Year awards: 

Criteria:  Front of the House – exemplary service to their customers and to their employer in the dining area, bar, lounge or lobby of a hospitality industry establishment.  Back of the House – exceptional service to his/her employer and their guests as a result, in the Back of the House.

  • Front of the House Employee – Danette Malcolm, Pizza Rita
  • Back of the House Employee – Chef Brian Hartnett, Twigs Bistro & Martini Bar/ Wandermere

2013 Supplier of the Year awards:

Criteria: Responsibility to customers, service to the hospitality industry, association participation and community participation.

  • Supplier Company of the Year:  Franz Bakery
  • Supplier Representative of the Year:  John Yamada, Ecolab

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Presented to Gary Sutter, Food & Beverage Director at Northern Quest Resort & Casino – for nearly 40 years serving the hospitality industry.

ProStart Mentor of the Year

  • Chef Barry Matthews of Steam Plant Grill was honored as ProStart High School Culinary & Restaurant Management Mentor of the Year.

For more information on the Spokane Chapter, go to http://warestaurant.org/membership/get-involved/spokane/.

Categories: Membership, News Room